#YRfanfiction #Niktor #Newmans Now&Forever: Whirlwind of Emotions Pt. 16

Published April 23, 2012 by tdaddetta16

Chapter Thirty-Four
Only minutes later, Nikki was back downstairs only to find him gone. “He wants to play games, fine! He’s about to find out who he’s playing with!’ Nikki thought, a light of anger mixed with determination flaring in her eyes as she picked up the phone and called Newman Enterprises. “Hello, Connie, it’s Mrs. Newman. I need Victor’s itinerary for his trip to Buffalo.”
“Mrs. Newman, I wish I could help you but, Mr. Newman was very adamant, he-”
“Connie, I’m well aware that he didn’t want anybody knowing about the trip or what his itinerary is. But that doesn’t matter. I need to know what he’s up to. It may very well be a matter of life and death. Look, just get me whatever you can, alright?”
“Okay, here’s what he told me.” Uneasy, Connie told her about Victor booking a hotel room for four days, gave her the name of the hotel and the room number. “I’m sorry, that’s all he told me.”
“Thanks Connie, you’ve been more help than you know. I owe you,” Nikki said before hanging up and calling Wally.
“Wally, it’s Mrs. Newman. I’ll meet you at the airport in a half hour.”
“But Mrs. Newman-”
“Wally, don’t argue, I’m going to Buffalo to find Victor, with or without your help.”
“Alright, I’ll see you in a half hour.” Wally knew better than to argue. After hanging up, he thought to himself aloud, “I sure hope Mr. Newman knows what he’s doing.”

Back at the ranch, Nikki was making arrangements to make sure Abby would be taken care of while she was gone. “Victoria, don’t ask any questions, I don’t have any time to explain. I need to go find your father.”
“Where is he?” Vicki asked suspicious.
“Buffalo.” Nikki answered simply, offering no further explanation.
“Buffalo? Mom, what’s he doing in Buffalo for God’s sake?! He needs to be here, not in another state! What is he thinking? What’s going on?” Vicki asked, her temper rising.
“Victoria, I don’t have any answers for you, I don’t know. I don’t have any time to explain, I need to go now.”
“But Mom-”
“Victoria, I don’t have any time to waste! I need you to take care of your sister for me while I’m gone. Can you do that for me?”
“Do I have a choice?” Vicki asked still frustrated and angry that something was being kept from her yet again!
“Thank you, I’ll see you when we get back.”
*

A few hours later, Nikki was standing outside Victor’s suite, ready to confront him. “What are you doing here?” he asked completely shocked to see her. “Does your doctor know you’re here?”
“Victor, I’m not that far along, and don’t try to change the subject! What are you trying to pull, taking off like that when you knew I was going to be right back? You knew I wanted to talk to you! You new I wasn’t about to let you go on this trip alone!” Nikki exclaimed as she pushed past him and into the suite.
“Yeah.”
“What do you mean yeah? That’s all you have to say for yourself?” Nikki exclaimed, her temper slowly climbing.
“What do you want me to say?” Victor asked defensively.
“I want an explanation, damn it! You owe me that much!”
“Nikki, I didn’t want to get drawn into another argument, alright? We just keep going around in circles, it doesn’t do either one of us a damn bit of good.”
“That’s the first thing you’ve said that I agree with! All the arguing in the world won’t do us any good. Victor, what we need is to work together to get through this. Why can’t you understand that?”
“There are some things even you can’t help me with.” He offered no further explanation, only moving across the room to sit on the couch.
“Not good enough, I want to know what’s going on and neither of us is going anywhere until I find out.” Her tone brooked no argument as she followed him to the couch and sat beside him.
“Nikki, I came here to take care of a few things, that’s it.” Victor couldn’t look her in the eye, afraid of what she’d see shining in his eyes.
“You said that before, but you didn’t say what. What could you possibly have to take care of here?” Nikki pressed. “There are some things here that I have to face, things from my past, alright? Are you satisfied now?” Victor asked, knowing he had no reason to be defensive with her but unable to help it. ‘She’s just better off not knowing some things, no matter how much she wants to help me. This is my problem, it has nothing to do with her and she can’t do anything to help me, that’s all there is to it.’

“Victor, I’m not leaving, so deal with it! Now, what are you talking about, what’s left for you to face here?” Nikki asked, determined to get an answer. Then suddenly, it dawned on her. “You’re here to face your past, aren’t you? You’re here to face what happened all those years ago when your mother gave you up for adoption.” The heartbreak in her eyes was meant not as an insult or a form of pity, but simply of understanding. Still, he hated seeing it.
“Nikki, go home.”
“No, I’m going with you. Wherever you’re going today, I’m going with you.”
“Nikki, why? Why do you want to do that? Why are you so determined?”
“Here,” he said, pulling out his wallet and reaching for a credit card. “There are two or three boutiques and a shopping mall not far from here. Go and spend the afternoon there, I’ll meet you back here when I’m done.”
“Give me that credit card and I’ll cut it up into a hundred tiny pieces.” Nikki said, perfectly serious.
“Fine, suit yourself. I’ll be back in awhile.”
“Freeze. You’re not going anywhere without me.”
“You’re sure you want in on this?” He asked sceptical and far too tired to argue with her anymore.
“Positive.” Nikki replied before asking, “Where are we headed first?”
Hesitating for only a moment, Victor replied, “The orphanage where my mother left me.”
“What? I didn’t think it was still around.”
“Neither did I, I did some investigating and it’s still around. Ready to go?”
“Let’s go.”

Chapter Thirty-Five
A few hours later, Nikki was standing outside Victor’s suite, ready to confront him. “What are you doing here?” he asked completely shocked to see her. “Does your doctor know you’re here?”
“Victor, I’m not that far along, and don’t try to change the subject! What are you trying to pull, taking off like that when you knew I was going to be right back? You knew I wanted to talk to you! You new I wasn’t about to let you go on this trip alone!” Nikki exclaimed as she pushed past him and into the suite.
“Yeah.”
“What do you mean yeah? That’s all you have to say for yourself?” Nikki exclaimed, her temper slowly climbing.
“What do you want me to say?” Victor asked defensively.
“I want an explanation, d**n it! You owe me that much!”
“Nikki, I didn’t want to get drawn into another argument, alright? We just keep going around in circles, it doesn’t do either one of us a d**n bit of good.”
“That’s the first thing you’ve said that I agree with! All the arguing in the world won’t do us any good. Victor, what we need is to work together to get through this. Why can’t you understand that?”
“There are some things even you can’t help me with.” He offered no further explanation, only moving across the room to sit on the couch.
“Not good enough, I want to know what’s going on and neither of us is going anywhere until I find out.” Her tone brooked no argument as she followed him to the couch and sat beside him.
“Nikki, I came here to take care of a few things, that’s it.” Victor couldn’t look her in the eye, afraid of what she’d see shining in his eyes.
“You said that before, but you didn’t say what. What could you possibly have to take care of here?” Nikki pressed. “There are some things here that I have to face, things from my past, alright? Are you satisfied now?” Victor asked, knowing he had no reason to be defensive with her but unable to help it. ‘She’s just better off not knowing some things, no matter how much she wants to help me. This is my problem, it has nothing to do with her and she can’t do anything to help me, that’s all there is to it.’

“Victor, I’m not leaving, so deal with it! Now, what are you talking about, what’s left for you to face here?” Nikki asked, determined to get an answer. Then suddenly, it dawned on her. “You’re here to face your past, aren’t you? You’re here to face what happened all those years ago when your mother gave you up for adoption.” The heartbreak in her eyes was meant not as an insult or a form of pity, but simply of understanding. Still, he hated seeing it.
“Nikki, go home.”
“No, I’m going with you. Wherever you’re going today, I’m going with you.”
“Nikki, why? Why do you want to do that? Why are you so determined?”
“Here,” he said, pulling out his wallet and reaching for a credit card. “There are two or three boutiques and a shopping mall not far from here. Go and spend the afternoon there, I’ll meet you back here when I’m done.”
“Give me that credit card and I’ll cut it up into a hundred tiny pieces.” Nikki said, perfectly serious.
“Fine, suit yourself. I’ll be back in awhile.”
“Freeze. You’re not going anywhere without me.”
“You’re sure you want in on this?” He asked sceptical and far too tired to argue with her anymore.
“Positive.” Nikki replied before asking, “Where are we headed first?”
Hesitating for only a moment, Victor replied, “The orphanage where my mother left me.”
“What? I didn’t think it was still around.”
“Neither did I, I did some investigating and it’s still around. Ready to go?”
“Let’s go.”
*

Leave a Reply

