#YRfanfiction #Niktor Newmans Now&Forever: Whirlwind of Emotions Pt. 14

Published April 23, 2012 by tdaddetta16

Chapter Thirty
Back in the living room, Victor had just finished filling his son in on the fact that he was certainly not an only child. “Okay, let me see if I have this straight. I have an older brother, Nicholas, and an older sister, Victoria.”
“Yes, and a younger sister, Abby.” Victor confirmed, watching him closely trying to gauge his reaction before continuing. “And-”
“You mean there’s more?” Victor Jr. asked, shocked and stunned to hear that he had not only inherited a father he was just getting to know but siblings too.
“Yes.” Victor stopped for a moment to consider telling him about Nikki’s pregnancy, then decided it was not only best, but necessary. ‘If I’m going to get him to trust me, if I’m going to have any kind of relationship with him, I need to be honest with him, starting now,’ he thought to himself as he took a deep breath and prepared to tell him the rest of the story.
“There’s one more thing you need to know. Nikki’s pregnant, with twins.” He said and told him about his brother and sister, each of whom Victor himself probably would not be around to see born. Once Victor had finished, he sat there studying his son very carefully, waiting for him to say something.
“Will you be alright? Will she be alright?” Victor Jr. asked shocked, his voice far more unsteady and fearful than he intended it to be. “Truthfully, I don’t know. I wish I did, but I don’t.” Victor tried not to think about the possibility that he wouldn’t be able to see his children grow up, or have the kind of relationship he wanted with them, but deep down, he knew that it loomed over him and his family now more than ever.
Acting on instinct, Victor Jr. hesitantly wrapped his arms around his father and gave him a quick hug.
Then, as he pulled back and smiled a little, he said, “I’ve got to hand it to your wife, she’s handling this whole situation much better than most women would ever be able to. Her husband’s ex and kid popped over to visit and she just took it in stride.”
“Yeah, that’s Nikki, alright, as long as she knows it’s best for someone she cares about, she somehow always finds a way to deal with whatever comes her way.” Victor agreed with a smile, proud of his wife and grateful to have her. “I’m lucky to have her.” The soft, almost reverent way he said that made Victor Jr. smile in spite of himself.

“You know she feels the same way about you. She loves you more than anything.”
“How can you tell?” Victor asked, surprised to find that his son was picking up on such things.
“It’s not hard to see. It’s in everything she does for you, isn’t it? I mean, she arranged this whole thing, didn’t she?” Victor Jr. asked wisely.
“You’re right.” Victor replied, his voice soft and thoughtful. He was about to say something else when Nikki and Hope walked back into the livingroom.
“I hate to break this up, but it’s time to go.”
“No, Mom, come on, not now. There’s still so much stuff I want to know. I still have so many questions.”
“Victor needs his rest, we need to go.” Hope remained firm.
“Listen to your mother, alright? You can come back any time you want.” Victor said firmly but softened the command with a smile.
His face lighting up, Victor Jr. asked turning to Nikki, “Really? Is that okay with you?”
“That’s more than fine with me. We’d both be happy to have you anytime .” Nikki replied as she wrapped an arm around Victor.
With that, Victor Jr. and Hope prepared to leave. “Here’s the number for the hotel we’re staying at and our room number, call if you need anything, alright?” Hope said before they left.
“We will. Thank you,” Victor replied gratefully, humbly as he and Nikki watched them leave.

After they’d left, Victor turned to Nikki and, wrapping his arms around her, holding her close, whispered, “Thank you.”
Confused, Nikki asked, “For what?”
“For giving me a second chance with my son, in spite of what it might have cost you. Thank you.” Before she had a chance to say anything, his lips met hers in a kiss so sweet, so tender and loving, it brought tears to her eyes.
As they pulled apart, Nikki saw the tears in his eyes and tenderly asked, “What’s wrong? Did something happen between you and Victor Jr. I thought things went well.”
“They did.”
“Then what’s going on?”
“I’m just thinking, that’s all.”
“About what? Or should I say who?” Nikki asked as she lead him to the couch.
“Matt.” “Oh,” Nikki replied softly.
“I don’t even know where he is. I haven’t heard from him in years. I can’t really blame him for not wanting to have anything to do with me either, not with the kind of relationship we have; a non-existent one.” He ended on a bitter, almost defeated note. “Who knows, perhaps it’s better that way? Perhaps we’re both better off with things the way they are.”
“You’re sure you don’t know where to reach him?” Nikki asked carefully.
“No, I got a phone call from him a few months ago, when everything was up in the air with Abby’s custody, but nothing since. I tried to get a hold of him after that, but I found out he moved and didn’t leave a forwarding address. I can’t really blame him. Why would he be concerned about doing anything like that after everything that’s happened between him and I?”Victor replied quietly, a far off expression on his face as he thought back to his childhood with his brother and later on when he returned to town only to realize that forming any kind of relationship with his brother was impossible, for various reasons.

Changing the subject to something he could change, Victor said, “Um, I want to tell you something before you hear about it from anybody else.”
“What? What’s wrong now? What’s going on?”
Hoping, against his better judgement, that what he was about to tell her wouldn’t upset her further, he replied, “I’m going on a trip.”
“What? A trip, now? Victor, come on you’re not serious, are you? You can’t be serious! You need to be here, not traipsing off somewhere on a whim!” Nikki exclaimed, hoping she hadn’t heard him right.
“Nikki, calm down, will you?” Victor said, the first signs of temper beginning to show.
“What do you mean calm down? Don’t you tell me to calm down! Be serious for a minute! You’re in no shape to go anywhere!” Nikki shot back, determined to stop him from doing the one thing that he couldn’t possibly afford to do. ‘Why is he doing this? He’s got enough to deal with without taking on this macho attitude! When is he going to learn he can’t just do whatever he feels like! He’s not invincible, when is he going to realize that?’ Nikki thought to herself frustrated and disgusted!
“Nikki, I’m perfectly capable of deciding what I can and can’t do, alright? Just let me do this!” Victor insisted stubbornly.
“No way! I am not about to let you go off wherever it is you’re planning to go and not say a word! What about your surgery? You said it was scheduled for Friday.” Nikki stood her ground, determined not to let him out of her sight for any reason, let alone let him do anything that would end in him being hospitalized.
“What do you mean you aren’t about to let me go? Nobody tells me what I can and can’t do! Besides, I’ll only be gone a few days and then I’ll be home! I’ll be home in time for the damn surgery, alright!” Victor boomed angrily.
“No! It’s not alright! Damn it Victor, Listen to me for once! Stop being such a damn fool and listen! You need to stay here, where you belong, not go traipsing off somewhere just because you feel like it! You still haven’t even told me where you’re going.” Nikki continued to press him for information, unwilling to let him have his way, regardless of how much he fought her on it.
“Alright, I’m going to Buffalo, satisfied?” Victor replied petulantly, defensively.
“Buffalo? Why Buffalo of all places?” Nikki asked, her curiosity growing.
“Nikki, like I said before I have some things I need to take care of.”
“Things, what things? Victor, for God’s sake, what could possibly be more important than your health? What?” Nikki peppered him with questions, her temper rising further and further with each answer she got.
“Nikki, I can handle this, alright? Quit worrying!” Victor barked furious.
“What do you mean quit worrying? Somebody has to worry, you obviously aren’t! You refuse to see the implications of what you’re doing!” Nikki shot back, unwilling to let him have his way.

Chapter Thirty-One
After they’d left, Victor turned to Nikki and, wrapping his arms around her, holding her close, whispered, “Thank you.”
Confused, Nikki asked, “For what?”
“For giving me a second chance with my son, in spite of what it might have cost you. Thank you.” Before she had a chance to say anything, his lips met hers in a kiss so sweet, so tender and loving, it brought tears to her eyes.
As they pulled apart, Nikki saw the tears in his eyes and tenderly asked, “What’s wrong? Did something happen between you and Victor Jr. I thought things went well.”
“They did.”
“Then what’s going on?”
“I’m just thinking, that’s all.”
“About what? Or should I say who?” Nikki asked as she lead him to the couch.
“Matt.”
“Oh,” Nikki replied softly.
“I don’t even know where he is. I haven’t heard from him in years. I can’t really blame him for not wanting to have anything to do with me either, not with the kind of relationship we have; a non-existent one.” He ended on a bitter, almost defeated note. “Who knows, perhaps it’s better that way? Perhaps we’re both better off with things the way they are.”
“You’re sure you don’t know where to reach him?” Nikki asked carefully.
“No, I got a phone call from him a few months ago, when everything was up in the air with Abby’s custody, but nothing since. I tried to get a hold of him after that, but I found out he moved and didn’t leave a forwarding address. I can’t really blame him. Why would he be concerned about doing anything like that after everything that’s happened between him and I?”Victor replied quietly, a far off expression on his face as he thought back to his childhood with his brother and later on when he returned to town only to realize that forming any kind of relationship with his brother was impossible, for various reasons.

Changing the subject to something he could change, Victor said, “Um, I want to tell you something before you hear about it from anybody else.”
“What? What’s wrong now? What’s going on?”
Hoping, against his better judgement, that what he was about to tell her wouldn’t upset her further, he replied, “I’m going on a trip.”
“What? A trip, now? Victor, come on you’re not serious, are you? You can’t be serious! You need to be here, not traipsing off somewhere on a whim!” Nikki exclaimed, hoping she hadn’t heard him right.
“Nikki, calm down, will you?” Victor said, the first signs of temper beginning to show.
“What do you mean calm down? Don’t you tell me to calm down! Be serious for a minute! You’re in no shape to go anywhere!” Nikki shot back, determined to stop him from doing the one thing that he couldn’t possibly afford to do. ‘Why is he doing this? He’s got enough to deal with without taking on this macho attitude! When is he going to learn he can’t just do whatever he feels like! He’s not invincible, when is he going to realize that?’ Nikki thought to herself frustrated and disgusted!
“Nikki, I’m perfectly capable of deciding what I can and can’t do, alright? Just let me do this!” Victor insisted stubbornly.
“No way! I am not about to let you go off wherever it is you’re planning to go and not say a word! What about your surgery? You said it was scheduled for Friday.” Nikki stood her ground, determined not to let him out of her sight for any reason, let alone let him do anything that would end in him being hospitalized.
“What do you mean you aren’t about to let me go? Nobody tells me what I can and can’t do! Besides, I’ll only be gone a few days and then I’ll be home! I’ll be home in time for the damn surgery, alright!” Victor boomed angrily.
“No! It’s not alright! Damn it Victor, Listen to me for once! Stop being such a damn fool and listen! You need to stay here, where you belong, not go traipsing off somewhere just because you feel like it! You still haven’t even told me where you’re going.” Nikki continued to press him for information, unwilling to let him have his way, regardless of how much he fought her on it.
“Alright, I’m going to Buffalo, satisfied?” Victor replied petulantly, defensively.
“Buffalo? Why Buffalo of all places?” Nikki asked, her curiosity growing.
“Nikki, like I said before I have some things I need to take care of.”
“Things, what things? Victor, for God’s sake, what could possibly be more important than your health? What?” Nikki peppered him with questions, her temper rising further and further with each answer she got.
“Nikki, I can handle this, alright? Quit worrying!” Victor barked furious.
“What do you mean quit worrying? Somebody has to worry, you obviously aren’t! You refuse to see the implications of what you’re doing!” Nikki shot back, unwilling to let him have his way.

Leave a Reply

