#YRfanfiction #Niktor #Newmans Now&Forever: Whirlwind of Emotions Pt. 12

Published April 23, 2012 by tdaddetta16

Chapter Twenty-Five
Meanwhile, at the ranch, Victor walked downstairs ready to talk to Nikki. “I’m sorry about what happened earlier, I didn’t mean to bring all that up. You have enough to deal with right now.”
“Victor, it’s alright. You needed to say all that. You finally realize that you can’t bottle things up all the time. The way I see it, that means I’m finally making progress.” Nikki ended on a light note as a small smile crept across her lips.
“Am I that bad?” Victor asked, smiling in spite of himself.
“You really want me to answer that?” Nikki teased, unable to help herself.
“No, on second thought, you don’t have to.” Victor replied, chuckling a little, for the first time in a long time.
“Good.” “Who was that on the phone?” Victor asked curious.
“Oh no one, just a wrong number.” Nikki lied, hoping he’d take her word for it.

Victor was about to ask more questions when the doorbell rang.
“I’ll get it,” Nikki said as she walked towards the door and thought to herself, ‘Saved by the bell. The last thing either of us needs is for Victor to find out about me calling Hope. In spite of why I did it, if he found out, I’d never hear the end of it!’
“Hope!” Nikki exclaimed surprised to see her so soon afer their discussion.
“Hi Nikki, can we come in?”
“Of course,” Nikki asked, stepping back to let them in.
“Hello,” she said addressing who she knew to be Victor Jr. ‘He looks so much like Victor.’ She thought to herself amazed at the resemblance.
“Hi,” he said shortly, although there was no open hostility in his voice, which surprised her on some level.
“Nikki, who is it?” Victor asked as they walked into the livingroom.
As his son walked into the livingroom, Victor couldn’t believe his eyes. There stood a boy of fifteen who looked just like he did at that age. It was unbelievable. “He looks just like me. Same height, same build, same dark brown eyes and jet black hair. Same scowl too,” he said to himself worriedly, far more nervous than he’d ever expected to be, now that he was finally face to face with his son.
“What’s going on?” he asked turning to Hope.
“He knows, Victor, he knows you’re his father.”

Chapter Twenty-Six
Victor never knew such a simple sentence could change everything so completely, so totally and irrevocably.
“He knows?” Victor echoed unable to believe it.
“I told him, it was the least I could do. It was time,”Hope explained plainly, but the note of regret, the note of sorrow wasn’t lost on him.
“My boy-” Victor said softly as he approached his son.
“Don’t call me that! Don’t you dare call me that! You are not my father! You’re just some stranger I’m visiting to make my mom happy, let’s get that straight right off the bat! Somehow she got it in her head that I needed to see you one last time before you die. Don’t ask me how or why! Frankly, I couldn’t care less about what happens to you!” Victor Jr. yelled, his voice ice cold as he stepped back, away from Victor.
His eyes welling up with dejected, anguished tears, Victor whispered softly, “Okay, fine. I’m just glad you’re here.”
“I’m doing it for my mom not you!” he shot back angrily, bitterly, as fire blazed in his eyes.

“Mom, why are we here? What’s the point?” Victor Jr. asked petulantly as he turned his attention to his mother.
“We’re just wasting our time!”
“You know why we came here, why are you doing this? Why can’t you just give this a chance? Why can’t you just give your father a chance?”
“He’s not my father! He’s just some rich old man I’m supposed to come talk to, someone I’m supposed to feel sorry for. He’s not my father! My father’s dead!” he raged glaring at Victor, his eyes ice cold.
Seeing the deep pain shining in Victor’s eyes, Nikki decided to try and smooth things over. “I know that this is pretty hard for you to understand, and it’s almost impossible for you to accept. But, Victor is your father and, whether or not you believe it, he does care about you.”
“Yeah, sure. If he did he would’ve picked up the phone once in awhile, he would’ve at least tried to find out what was going on in my life, how I was doing. But that didn’t matter, not as long as he had his business and his money. He didn’t give a damn about me, so why should I give a damn about him?!” Victor Jr. raged as he stood there, his fists so tight, his hands were starting to cramp up.
“Victor Jr., that’s enough! We came here so you could talk to your father, not so you could yell and scream and cause trouble!” Hope scolded.
“That’s funny, I thought I was here to be his welcome mat! I’m not gonna do it! No way am I being his welcome mat, his pet project! He didn’t give me a second thought when I was growing up and now I’m supposed to understand? Forgive and forget, is that it? Sorry, I’m nobody’s chump, including his!”
“Please, let me explain,” Victor said softly.
“Forget it, I don’t care! I don’t care what you have to say! I’m out of here!” he exclaimed hotly as he ran back to the front door and wrenched it open.
“Wait!”

Leave a Reply

