#YRfanfiction #Niktor #Newmans #Now&Forever: Whirlwind of Emotions Pt.3

Published April 16, 2012 by tdaddetta16

Chapter Five
“Victoria, I just found out a few days ago. I tried to talk to your father about this, I tried to get him to tell you sooner, but he wouldn’t listen. He wasn’t ready, and can you really blame him? This is a huge shock for anybody to deal with! It’s only natural that he needed time to work this through before he came to us with it. And, I had a hard enough time getting him to tell me! I practically had to drag it out of him! I couldn’t do anything else! The more I pushed, the harder things got! The more he pulled away! What was I supposed to do, lock him in his room until he agreed to tell you? Come on, you know that wouldn’t have worked, nether would anything else I could have tried! It wouldn’t have done any good for me to push this! And I certainly wasn’t about to go against his wishes and tell you what was going on! My hands were tied here! It wasn’t my place to tell you anything, it wasn’t my secret to tell.”
“But you had no problem at all keeping it, did you? You had no problem at all doing that, even though you knew what was going on and how worried we were; how scared we were? Even though you knew how scared I was?! Damn it Mom!”
“Vicki; just calm down! This isn’t what Mom and Dad need right now! It’s not about you! I know how you feel, but it’s not about you!” Nick scolded her.
“Oh come on Nick! Do me a favour and knock it off! Don’t you dare tell me how to handle this! Don’t you tell me how I should feel! You have no clue how I feel! You have no clue what this is doing to me, so don’t stand there and patronize me like I’m some lack-wit who’ll buy whatever I’m told.” “Vicki…”

“NO! Damn it, don’t you get it? I don’t want to hear it, I don’t want to hear from any of you! As far as I’m concerned I don’t have anything to say to any of you and I sure as hell don’t want to hear anything from any of you!” Vicki exclaimed as she turned on her heels and started to walk out.
She stopped in her tracks when she heard Nick ask, “Dad, what happens now? When’s the bypass scheduled for? What do the doctors say about your chances?”
“I have an appointment scheduled for a couple of days from now, as for my chances; they weren’t good when this whole thing started, who knows what they are now. To be honest with you, I don’t even want to think about it. I don’t even want to speculate.”
“Sharon asked this earlier, now we’re asking you,” Vicki asked walking back in and standing beside her brother, “is there anything we can do; anything at all?”
“My sweetheart,I wish there were. But, unfortunately, it’s out of our hands.”

Unable to stand being there any longer, Victoria tore out of the main house!
As tears glistened in his eyes, Victor helplessly, hopelessly watched her leave. Then, thinking better of it, he started to go after her.
Nikki stopped him, telling him “Don’t. Just let her be for now. Give her some time.”

Chapter Six
After hearing all the yelling going on for the past little while, Abby finally decided to come downstairs and see what was going on. “Mommy, Daddy? What’s going on? Why is everybody yelling?” she asked looking from Victor to Nikki fearfully. The questions running through her mind shone in her eyes, almost breaking Victor’s heart.
“Come here, sweetheart,” Nikki whispered as she held out her arms.
“I think we’d better go,” Sharon said as she rose from the couch, waiting for Nicholas to join her.
“Dad, do you want me to stick around? Do you need me to stick around? Because if you do-“

“No my boy, go on, go on home. I’ll be fine.” Victor couldn’t help but smile a little at the tenderness in his son’s voice.
“Alright, but call me if you need anything, alright?”
“I’ll do that.”
“Victor, can we ask you something?” Cassie finally worked up the courage to talk to him about what she and Noah had heard.
“Sure,” Victor replied, finding it increasingly difficult to stay strong for his family.“You’re going to be alright, right?”
“Yeah, I mean, doctors are good at what they do right? They won’t mess up right?” Noah joined in.
“Of course he’ll be alright. Don’t you worry about that. I’ll make sure he is!” Nikki promised them firmly, determinedly as she wrapped an arm around him protectively.
“I’m not going anywhere,” Victor softly vowed as his grandchildren wrapped their arms around him, holding on tight.
Then, somewhat satisfied, they left.

“Doctors?” Abby asked confused. “What’s going on? Is something wrong? Is there something wrong with one of the babies?”
“No, my sweetheart, they’re just fine,” Victor replied as he sat on the couch beside her.


Leave a Reply

