#YRfanfiction #Niktor #Newmans Now&Forever: Whilrwind of Emotions Pt. 10

Published April 16, 2012 by tdaddetta16

Chapter Twenty-One
It had been a long, hard day at work but Victor finally arrived home well after dinnertime.
“I’m glad you’re home, there’s something we need to discuss.”
“Not now, okay, I’m really not in the mood to discuss anything.”
“Well that’s just too bad. We need to discuss this!”
“Alright, what is it, Nikki?” he asked tightly.

“How did the doctor’s appointment go?” she asked pointedly, on some level hoping to get a straight answer.
“What do you mean how did it go? You were there, remember?” Victor asked, growing suspicious.
“Yeah, but I had to leave before the appointment was over because I wasn’t feeling well. By the time I got back, the appointment was over. So, how did it go? What else did Dr. Cornwell and Dr. Thorton say?” Nikki asked, quickly growing impatient with him.
“What do you mean how did it go? It went fine. Why are you acting so strange? Why all the questions? You know something I don’t?” Victor asked as his suspicions grew.
“Funny, I was going to ask you the same question.”
“Nikki, it’s obvious you have something to say, so just say it!” Victor barked angrily.
“Fine. What did the doctors say the last time you met with them and why haven’t I heard about it yet? What are you hiding?” Nikki asked, her temper beginning to show.
“Nikki, there’s nothing to worry about, alright.” Victor tried unsuccessfully to pacify her.

“Victor, it’s me, not one of the children. So cut the act and tell me what I want to know! I’m not dropping this until you do!” Nikki asked, standing her ground.
“Why are you so determined to stay involved in this?” Victor asked, unable to figure out what was going on.
“Why do you insist on rehashing this when you should be putting your energy towards to your recovery?” Nikki asked, losing her patience with him.
“Nikki-”
“Save it! Just tell me what I want to know, you know I’ll find out one way or another, so just tell me!” Nikki demanded hotly, impatiently.
“Alright, you’re so sure you want to know, I’ll tell you! Things are getting worse by the minute! They want me to check myself in to the hospital so they can keep a close eye on me.”
“Then why haven’t you done it by now? Why are you being so stubborn?” Nikki demanded, trying her best not to blow up at him.
“Because, there are a few things I need to take care of before I do that, alright?” Victor answered tightly, defensively and cryptically.
“What things?” Nikki asked, unwilling to let go of the subject.
“Nikki, just let it go, alright? Let it go!” Victor demanded angrily.
“Not a chance!” Nikki exclaimed letting him know she was going to get to the bottom of whatever was going on with or without his help.
“Why won’t you leave this alone? Why won’t you leave it alone?” Victor asked, trying but failing to hide the note of defeat that crept into his voice.

“Because, I know something’s wrong and I’m d**n well not going to sit back while you deal with it on your own! Now tell me why you won’t just do what the doctors are telling you! What’s stopping you, other than your stubborn pride?!”
“This has nothing to do with pride, alright!” Victor boomed angrily.
“Then enlighten me, what does this have to do with? What are you trying to accomplish here? What’s stopping you from doing the one thing that might save your life?!” Nikki shot back, barely able to resist the urge to shake him.

Chapter Twenty-Two
“You know, I couldn’t even get any work done today. I tried, but I had too much on my mind.” He began cryptically.
“Victor, what are you talking about? Of course you can’t get any work done! You know what’s happening and what you’re up against and you’re not doing anything about it! Of course you can’t work, deep down you know what you’re doing, hiding like this will just blow up in your face in the end! For God’s sake, you’re signing your own death certificate!”
“That’s not the reason.” Victor replied, ignoring what she’d just told him, wrapped up in painful memories of the past.
“Then what is?” Nikki asked confused.
“I…You know what? Forget it, let’s just forget it, okay? I don’t want to get into it. I don’t want to upset you.”

Although it was the truth, Nikki wouldn’t let it go. “Like I’m not upset already! Victor, I can handle it. Tell me.”
“You’re sure you want to hear this?”
“Yes!” Nikki snapped frustrated.
Taking a deep breath and hoping he wouldn’t regret what he was about to do, Victor told her what she seemed so intent on finding out. “I’ve been thinking about a lot of things and people,” he began slowly.
“Such as?” Nikki prompted impatiently.
“Victor Jr., more and more I realize that I have no relationship with my son. There’s something very wrong about that. I’ve wasted so much time, time I can never get back.” Victor let out a quiet breath as he sat on the couch beside her and ran a hand through his hair.
After taking a moment to consider her words, Nikki said, “It’s only natural that he’d be on your mind at a time like this. He’s your son, regardless of what’s happened between you and he, and between you and Hope, he’s still your son.”
“I never meant for things to turn out the way they have, I never dreamed they’d turn out this way. I never thought he and I would be this far apart.”
“Victor, you don’t know that for sure! You don’t know how this will turn out! You don’t know that you won’t get a second chance with your son!” Nikki exclaimed firmly, trying her best to get him to hold on to whatever sliver of hope remained. “Let me ask you something, if you had a chance to get to know Victor Jr., even a little bit, would you take it?” Nikki asked cryptically, testing the situation out before she made her move.
“That would depend,” he replied cryptically, truthfully.
“On what?”
“Whether or not you were okay with it.”
“Why wouldn’t I be?” Nikki asked surprised by his answer. ‘For heaven’s sake, why would that matter? Of course I’d be okay with it. I’d never try to keep him away from his son!’ she thought to herself thoroughly confused and a little angry.“Alright, assuming I was fine with it, would you take that chance, if it were offered to you?” Nikki said, continuing to tread carefully.
“I’d do it in a heartbeat,” Victor answered honestly. Getting up from the couch, Victor told her, “I’m going to take a shower before dinner.”
“Fine.” 

Leave a Reply

