#YRfanfiction #Niktor #Newmans Now&Forever: Tender Moments

Published March 3, 2012 by tdaddetta16

Now&Forever: Tender Moments

Chapter One
Meanwhile, In Victoria’s bedroom, Victoria sat up in bed, after a night of tossing and turning. “What’s the problem? Why can’t I sleep?” She whispered to herself, looking around tiredly. “And, more importantly, what can I do to get to sleep?”

“I’ll try reading.” But, it wasn’t even a half hour later, when she threw down the book. Looking at the clock, she whispered to herself, “It’s too early to cook Mom and Dad breakfast in bed.” Climbing out of bed, Vicki wlaked over to her closet and grabbed a huge box off the top shelf. “What’s this? Getting back in bed, Vicki blew off the dust on the box and exclaimed, “I’d totally forgotten about this! Dad got it for me when I was nine, I didn’t have the patience then. But, who knows, maybe I ought to try my luck now? I might as well, I can’t sleep!” With that, she began sketching, but gave up not long after, since she was too restless.
Picking up a picture of her mother, which she had on her night stand, Victoria silently traced it with her fingertips. Tears fell silently on the picture, as she thought to herself, ‘If only I could turn back time, things would be so much different. But, it’s too late now, it’s just too late.

Just then, there was a knock on her bedroom door. Please, go away. Victoria silently pleaded as she held her breath and prayed whoever it was would leave her alone. “Victoria, sweetheart, it’s me. Can I come in?” Victor asked, Knocking on the door once again, hoping she wouldn’t shut him out, for once.
Heaving a tired sigh, Vicki said “Just a minute.” Wiping her tears, Victoria eyed herself disapprovingly in the mirror and pinched her cheeks, trying to give her ghostly white face some colour.

Chapter Two
Pasting on a smile, and forcing a bright note into her voice, Victoria a opened the door and said, “Hey, Dad. What’s up?”

As he walked in, Victor replied as he eyed her concerned, “I was a bout to ask you the same thing.”
Trying to play dumb, Victoria asked, “What do you mean?”
“What are you doing up? Shouldn’t you still be fast asleep?” Victor asked, trying to gently find out what was going on with his daughter.
“I could ask you the same thing.” Victoria tried, unsuccessfully, to turn the tables on her father.

“I had a business call to take care of. What about you? What’s going on?” Victor asked, hoping to finally get some answers.
“I can’t sleep, that’s all.” Victoria fibbed, hoping he wouldn’t ask any more questions.

“Why? What’s wrong? Why can’t you sleep?” Victor asked softly, hopefully.
Curling up on the bed, as Victor eyed her, getting more concerned with each passing moment, Victoria replied, “I don’t know, I guess I…I just have a lot on my mind.” She wouldn’t make eye contact, she spoke to her father, and thought to herself, panicking, ‘One look in my eyes, and he’ll figure it out for sure! I can’t take that risk!

Noting Victoria’s strange demeanor and concerned by it, Victor asked, “Are you sure you’re okay?”
Still not making eye contact,
Victoria replied, “Yeah. Why?”
Victor gently, yet pointedly replied, “My sweetheart, I’m worried about you, so is your mother.”
“Don’t be, I’m fine.” Victoria lied through her teeth, hoping victor would believe it, and stop asking so many questions. Deep down though, she knew it wouldn’t work.

“No, you’re not, my darling. We both know it.” Victor gently argued. “Your mother and I want to help you, but, you need to let us. You need to open up to us, give us something to work with. It’s the only way we can help you through this. Please, my darling.” Victor gently implored, deep pain in his eyes.
“You and Mom really want to help?” Victoria asked hopefully.
“Of course we do!” Victor answered emphatically.                                                                                                                                                                “Aright then, that’s exactly what I needed to hear.” Victoria replied, as Victor thought he’d finally learn what was bothering his daughter, and how to help her through it.
“So, what is it? What can we do to help you?” He asked hopefully.

Chapter Three

“The best way, the only way to help me is focus on each other, and your marriage. Forget about me, and focus on each other.” With those two simple sentences, Victoria swiftly, and soundly dashed her father’s hopes.

“What are you talking about? How in God’s name is that going to help you?” Victor asked angrily, confused.
“Simple. At least I’ll know you’ll have the support you need, especially Mom. Victoria replied cryptically, her eyes ice cold.
“What are you talking about? Support for what? What’s going on? Is something going on with your mother, is that it? Is something wrong with her and the baby? Is that what you’re talking about?” Victor asked, a little frightened.                                                                                                                                                                 “Mom and the baby are fine, Dad, don’t worry. Promise me you’ll focus on Mom, for a while.”

“I promise.” Victor replied confused.
Before Victor could ask any more questions, Nikki walked in. Hey, you two. What’s up?” She said, eyeing them both intently.
“Not much, you?” Victoria asked, trying to act normal.                                                                                                                                                                            “I was about to ask you the same question.
Am I interrupting something?” Nikki asked, as she studied her daughter, and zeroed in on her pallor, as well as the dark circles around her puffy red eyes.

As Nikki looked on, worriedly, trying to figure out what’s going on, Victoria and Victor exchanged anxious glances.                                                                                                    Hoping her mother will take what she says at face value and not ask any questions, Victoria replied, “Nothing, just Newman Enterprises stuff.” Pasting on a nervous smile, she added, “You wouldn’t be interested.”

Leave a Reply

