#YRfanfiction #Niktor #Newmans Now&Forever: Protection

Published February 24, 2012 by tdaddetta16

Now&Forever: Protection

Chapter One
Pulling up in front of the shop, Vicki took a deep breath and tried to convince herself what she was about to do was for the best. “This is the only way to make sure that bastard can’t hurt any of us. I’m doing what I have to do, what needs to be done to make sure my family is safe, Victoria told herself, as she pulled her coat against her to keep the chilling wind away and it began to pour.
Running toward’s the shop’s entrance, Victoria swallowed hard and tried to relax.          

A little bell rang overhead, as Victoria stepped inside. Nervously, she began looking around. She couldn’t help the doubts that crept into her mind, as she thought to herself ‘What am I doing here? This is ridiculous!’ Then, reminding herself of what was at steak, she told herself sternly, “This is the best thing I can do, for all of us!

“Hello, what can I do for you?” A short, balding, heavy set man said from behind the counter. He’d been watching her since she came in.
“I’m here to buy a gun.” Victoria didn’t think anything of the way the man studied her as she approached him.

A little puzzled, he replied, “Okay, what type?”
Shrugging her shoulders and looking around, Victoria replied, “I don’t really know.”
“Something small and easy to handle, perhaps?” The shop owner put in helpfully.
“Yeah, so what have you got?” Victoria asked, trying to muster some enthusiasm and swallow her nervousness.
Bringing out a small selection of handguns, the show owner said, “Take your pick, Miss.”

Scanning the small array of small handguns, Vicki picked one up.
“Ever used one before?” The shop keep asked.
“No.” Victoria awkwardly tried to handle her gun, though her nerves were jumping, her palms were sweating, and her stomach was churning. Fumbling, she dropped the gun she’d picked up, letting out sigh of relief when she realized it wasn’t loaded.
“Here, let me give you a few pointers.
“It seems a little too bulky.” Victoria looked around slightly nervously. Hesitantly, she picked up another gun.
“A .39 millimetre, nice choice.” The shop keep sounded impressed.
“Okay, so, how does this work? How much do I owe you?” Vicki asked, naively.
“It doesn’t quite work that way, miss.”  The shop keep sounded apologetic, as he eyed her sympathetically. ‘She looks like she’s desperate, really desperate, the question is why?’ He thought to himself worriedly.

Starting to become impatient, Victoria asked tightly, “Okay, so how does it work?”
“I’ll need you to sign these,” He explained, as he slid a sheaf of papers towards her.

“Then what?” She asked, becoming a little more impatient.
“Then, once you’ve got your permit, and you’ve waited the mandatory six moths…”
He didn’t get the chance to finish, as Victoria hotly cut him off, outraged, her fear beginning to show. “You mean I need to wait six months? You’re kidding me, right?”
“No, miss, those are the rules.”

“Thanks, thanks for nothing!” Victoria exclaimed, before storming out to her car.

Peeling away, Victoria thought to herself, ‘That was a was a total waste of time!”
She had to slam on the breaks when she noticed the red light in front of her. Still seething, she slammed her fist on the steering wheel and exclaimed, “Now I’m right back where I started, with a maniac Stalker on the loose, ready to do God knows what to me and my family!” 

Chapter Two
She drove around for awhile, and then decided to go home. When she finally got in, both Nikki and Victor were waiting for her. “Where have you been?”
“Why didn’t you call us?”
“What happened?” They peppered her with questions.

“I was running errands.” Victoria replied, hoping that would be the end of it.
“What kind of errands were you running?” Victor asked, sensing she was hiding something. Neither of them were willing to let the discussion end, they both wanted answers, both were intent on getting the answers they were after.
“It was just some stuff I had to do, no big deal.” Victoria replied adamantly.

“Victoria, where were you?”
“I went to a shop.” She offered no further details, neither did she tell them what kind of shop she was at.
“Victoria, what kind of shop were you at?”

“It was nothing special. It’s just part of my plan on how to handle Gary Dawson.” Victoria’s voice was calm, unusually calm.
“Victoria, there’s a better way to handle him, you don’t have to do this.”

“You don’t have to go after him on your own, angel.”
Both Nikki and Victor tried to reason with her, to no avail.
“Listen, I know you’re trying to protect me, but I’m not about to get this bastard get off scot-free after what he did to me!
And, I’m sure as hell not going to sit around and do nothing while he does God knows what to you and Dad!”

“My sweetheart, no one is suggesting you do that, alright.” Victor tried to calm her down.
Victoria sat there, unconvinced.
“Honey, all we’re suggesting is, maybe it’s just best if we go through the proper channels.”
Scoffing, with a cold, hard edge to her voice, Vicki replied, “The proper channels? You can’t be serious, Mother! Have you forgotten what he’s capable of, what he still might do?
“No, of course not, but,…” Nikki started to explain, but Victoria hotly cut her off.
“But nothing, the hell with going through the proper channels!
“Victoria, please listen to us.”

“We want to help.”
“I’m not going to change my mind!”  Victoria exclaimed adamantly.
“Victoria…”Nikki attempted, once more, to try and clam her daughter down.
“No!  

Chapter Three
“My darling, nothing like that will happen.”
“You don’t know that for sure, Dad.”
“I won’t let him think he’s in control, that would be the worst mistake I could make! I won’t let down my guard fora moment, if I do, there’s no telling what he’ll do. Why can’t you understand that? Why can’t you support me? I’m not trying to hurt you, I’m trying to protect you, for god’s sake, I’m trying to protect you!”
“I don’t understand, why do you think we need protection, hoping to get some answers.
“If I don’t do everything I can to make sure he doesn’t get the chance to hurt this family, I’ll never forgive myself, don’t you understand?  I won’t let him hurt you!
“My darling, calm down, plese just calm down.  don’t understand, why do you think he’ll come after us? Why do you think you have no other option than to take matters into your own hands?” Victor asked, wanting to get to the bottom of things.
“Obviously, the law won’t do anything, so it’s up to me. It’s up to me to do whatever I have to do to take care of him and make sure this family stays safe, and I’ll do exactly that! No matter what I have to do to make it happen, I will not let him get away with hurting you!”
“Victoria, I wish you’d just focus on protecting yourself, that should be your only focus right now.Nikki knew she was right, but it was clear Victoria wasn’t listening.
If he thinks he’ll get away with this, he’s got another thing coming! I’m not going to just sit back and watch him try and destroy this family, I won’t let him try and make me a victim again!”
“My darling, all we’re saying is that the risk you’re taking isn’t worth what you might, by some small chance gain by gong after this maniac!” Victor’s exasperation was beginning to show.
“I’m not going to just sit around and wait for him to make his move, by then it will be too late. I won’t let him tear this family apart, that’s not an option, do you hear me? That’s not an option!”
“Victoria, please, listen to us. This isn’t worth the risk!Nikki begged, as fear’s icy grip washed over her.
“My decision stands, Mother.”  Vicki wouldn’t listen to reason, and stormed off to her room.

Swallowing hard, and looking up at Victor, with deep pain shining from her eyes, Nikki whispered faintly, “What is going on here, and how much worse can it get?!”
“I don’t know, my darling, and I’m not at all sure we want to know.” Victor looked at
her apologetically, sullenly.

Leave a Reply

