What Do You See?

Published January 2, 2012 by tdaddetta16

What Do You See?
What do you see when you look at me?
My disability?
Don’t you see just how much more there is to me?

I am more than just the specialized equipment I use or the way I walk or talk.
I am a person with thoughts, feelings, dreams and aspirations.
I am an individual with plans and dreams for my own life.

I am well aware of what I can and cannot do.
I refuse to be categorized or stifled by what others think of me.
I will not be shoved into a box that others constantly try to put me in because they think it’s where fit.
I will not be told to sit in a corner and quietly wait.

I know my strengths and my weaknesses, my dreams and sorrows.
I know what I am capable of and what I am not.
I will not sit idly by and watch life pass me by, watch all I want slip through my fingers.
I will not sit quietly and politely listen to others who put me down.
I will decide my own future.

Leave a Reply

